Cart
Cart

Places of interest

Map view
Found 80 results
Map view
List
List
Grid
The enchanting effects of the lighthouse

The lighthouse is steeped in a poetic sense of nostalgia and the sight of it alone is enough to have an impact on your overall impression of the town.

From the sea, the tall white tower can easily be picked out against the backdrop of the trees as it stands out brightly on the beach. While it no longer serves its former purpose, it is bursting with vibrant historical appeal and continues to fascinate the many visitors who come to Bibione every year.

The lighthouse was built near the mouth of the Tagliamento River in the early 20th century. Once a navigational aid for those at sea, it has now been transformed into a place where holidaymakers from afar can gather.

The house next to the lighthouse is now used as a venue for art exhibitions, music events, high-calibre environmental studies, conventions and conferences. There are cycle and pedestrian paths to both the South and the North of the lighthouse, so cyclists often stop to take a break and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. It’s a great place to walk your dog and some people come here every day simply to admire the breathtaking landscape and savour the natural wonders all around.

We mustn’t forget…
…the natural marvels all around the lighthouse! The area combines a number of different habitats. Thanks to the nearby river, typical Mediterranean plants grow alongside Alpine flora and orchids in a perfectly balanced environment.

Transfer service for people who have mobility issues
From June to September, there’s a transfer service to Bibione lighthouse for people who have mobility issues. It departs from the local council office at 84 Via Maja. The service is free and it must be booked in advance. 
Information and bookings: iat@comunesanmichele.it // Tel. +39 0431 444846


Is the lighthouse calling you? Head down to the shore and experience it for yourself!
Details
The Zignago Industrial Group was founded in the ‘30s by Count Gaetano Marzotto, an entrepreneur who was head of the Valdagno (VI) textile group set up in the 19th century by his grandfather Luigi. Count Marzotto acquired an estate of over 1,000 hectares in the area of Villanova, a hamlet in the municipality of Fossalta di Portogruaro. Here the new agricultural centre gave an enormous impetus to the local Fossalta productive framework, managing companies according to the model of the social town of Valdagno, creating homes for workers, a nursery school, a hotel, a park, two tennis courts, a boules court, a skating rink, a Carabinieri barracks, a hospital and a textiles school. The Marzotto family are still the owners of Zignago Santa Margherita Industries today, including a glassworks, flax mill and wineries in Villanova.


Details
The Apostolorum Maior Basilica, under the present cathedral, is part of the complex archaeological area of piazza Costantini. It was erected on the remains of warehouses linked to homes from the 1st century A.D. to house the reliquaries of several saints.

Details
What bustling, vibrant event brings people from all walks of life together?
A market!
The beating heart of every town!
For centuries, markets have offered fascinating insights into the inhabitants of villages, towns and cities, opening a window onto their worlds and ways of life.
That’s why so many people love to visit the local market when they’re on holiday. As well as looking around the stalls and finding bargains, it’s a great chance to mingle with the locals and have a chat with the traders. Try traditional local food and produce, pick the finest freshly caught fish, and buy clothes and a huge range of other items.
Sometimes the atmosphere is made even livelier by street artists playing flutes and accordions, or clowns entertaining crowds of children.
All sorts of Italian and international visitors love to look around Bibione market. Whether you’re with your partner, children, grandchildren, friends or out for a walk with your dog, it’s an unmissable weekly event.
Bibione market takes place from 8:00 am until 1:00 pm every Tuesday in Piazza Mercato, near the corner of Via Sagittario. Come and experience the infectiously upbeat atmosphere.



Details
The latest discovery dates back to 2013. Two Roman sarcophagi were found outside what were once the ancient town walls. The monument, which is today temporarily housed under the Municipal Loggia, dates back to the late 2nd century A.D. It is made up of a podium in blocks of Calcare di Aurisina, originally with three levels.
The whole construction reached a height of 1.3 metres and had a perimeter base of 6.5 x 1.7 metres. At the top of the podium, as it was originally, the fragments of the two main sarcophagi in decorated preconnesio marble have been placed.
They were approximately 1.7 high and over 2 metres long and were demolished in ancient times.


Details
The noble homes of Portogruaro frame the historic centre and embellish its architectural beauty. The most important include the 15th century Palazzo de Götzen, Casa Longo, with its important decorative compositions, Palazzetto Fratto, which also hosted Ippolito Nievo, Palazzo Moro, with two elegant trifora, and Palazzo Muschietti, still embellished today by an external frieze featuring fruit under the eaves of the roof. 

Details
On an octagonal base, next to the Palazzo Municipale, is the ancient well of the cranes, a symbol of Portogruaro. The well is the work of Giovanni Antonio Pilacorte, who completed it in 1494. The two cranes are the work of Valentino Turchetto, a sculptor from Portogruaro, who created them in 1928. The previous cranes were removed during the Austrian invasion in 1917 to make cannons. 


Details
The Portogruaro Municipal Contemporary Art Gallery dates back to just after the Second World War. It has hosted exhibitions by internationally
famous artists like De Pisis, Carena, Guttuso, Saetti, Guidi, Afro, Vedova and Springolo.

Details
Excavation in Concordia began in the last century. A Roman bridge was found under the town and a 4th-5th century B.C. burial ground known as the soldier’s burial ground was discovered on the left of the River Lemene.
In 1983 remains of the Baths were brought to light and, in the square in front of the cathedral, remains were discovered of homes with drains and floors, as well as a part of the Decumanus Maximus, the main street of the town.
The via dei Pozzi Romani (a side street of via S.Pietro) saw the discovery of two Roman wells.


Details
The building dates back to the 18th century, although one particular document attached to the baptism registry hints at a pre-existing church dedicated to the Blessed Virgin. It has an atmospheric facade embellished by an harbour and by two characteristic grooved oval windows.
Inside is a statue of the virgin by the artist Valentino Besarel. The dedication of the church recalls the proclamation of the dogma of the immaculate conception by Pope Pius IX, on 8th December 1854.

Details
Manor Houses
The countless manor houses in the area, inspired by or originating with the Venetians, are extremely well built and prestigious.
The most important:
include Villa Rubin, built in the 18th century by the Papadopoli, with a square Venetian plan over three floors;
Villa Migotto, featuring elegant stone cornices;/p>
Villa Murador, with an elegant balcony on which there are two mono spheres separated by a little column and a central salon illuminated by double lancet windows with semi-circular arches and exposed stone balconies;
Villa Migotto, where all the windows of the piano nobile have archivolts and the cornice of the eaves has a modilion;
Villa Gubitta, which dates back to the 16th-17th centuries;
Villa Correr Agazzi, which has recently been restored and is suitable for hosting all kinds of events;
Villa Piva, set in the centre of a large agricultural estate.


Details
The Church of St. Mark the Evangelist is situated in Corbolone, a hamlet of San Stino di Livenza. It is a fine treasure trove of precious works of art. The first stone was laid on 29th May 1514 and included the ancient Chapel of the Annunciation, built by the confraternity of the same name in 1459.
The church has a rectangular form with an apse and on the left side is the Chapel of the Annunciation. The facade is embellished by a rose window and on the sides there are two blind arches whose cornices are extended to the floor. The church contains an altar above which there are two black columns with a “Pietà”, created in 1585 by Benedetto Stefani from Verona.
On the main altar is the famous “Titian altarpiece”, showing St. Mark enthroned between St. Sebastian and St. Roch. The frescoes in the Chapel of the Annunciation are by G. Antonio de Sacchis, known as “il Pordenone”.

Details
This building is part of Villa Dalla Pasqua and, together with the Belfiore Mill, forms a sort of closed courtyard to the right of the River Loncon. The Castellina has recently been restored. It has a polygonal shape and features a framework of brick eaves in Medieval style. Arts and recreational events are organised here. 

Details
San Michele al Tagliamento was virtually rebuilt after the Second World War. Among the various restorations is the little Church of St. Elizabeth of the Agnolina, inside which are two frescoes that date back to the 16th century, showing the Blessed Virgin of the Graces and the Annunciation with the Trinity.

Details
This was the first sanctuary built in Italy in honour of the Holy Virgin, known as the “Madonna of Fatima”.
Work began in 1947 on land donated by Count Gaetano Marzotto, on the outskirts of the town of Portogruaro, along the Treviso-Portogruaro state highway. The foundations of the church and the convent were laid on 13th September 1949 and excavation began two days later.
The sanctuary was consecrated by Bishop Vittorio De Zanche on 13th May 1954. Since 1999, the convent adjacent to the sanctuary has been the home of the Centre for Evangelisation of the Capuchins of Veneto and Friuli Venezia Giulia.







Details
The museum was created by a group of enthusiasts from the town, the municipality offered its full support and the Fossalta Ethnographic Museum was thus born in 1990.
It is a repository of the trades, uses and customs of local people in the first half of the 20th century, including the main artisan activities in the area, like that of the stonemason, blacksmith, shoemaker and tailor, etc. There are also external spaces divided into a portico, farmyard, sottoportico and cellar.
There are extremely valuable reconstructions of farming environments of the era, together with special features like the lighting, recreated using original materials, old dishes, bracket lights, woven electric wires and porcelain insulators etc.















Details
Here in Bibione, we know what your body and spirit need and we take care of both! Do you always try to attend a Sunday service, including when you’re on holiday?
This page is for all those looking for information about church services not only in Italian but also in German, Polish and Slovak.
The parish:
Parish church:
- Santa Maria Assunta (18 Via Antares)
Parish priest: Father Andrea Vena
Telephone: +39 0431 43178
Fax: +39 0431 43178
Summer services: Weekdays: 6.00 pm – Thursdays: 8.00 am – Saturdays: 6.00 pm – Sundays: 9.00 am and 11.00 am.
Website: www.parrocchia-bibione.org
Summer chapels:
- Church of Santo Stefano (3/A Via delle Colonie)
- Chapel of Maria Regina della Pace (“Pasotto” Pastoral Centre – 18/A Via Capricorno Ovest, Lido dei Pini)
- Chapel of San Pietro (Via Puccini, 30020, Lido del Sole)
- Chapel of Sant’Antonio (Via degli Asfodeli, Bibione Pineda)
For more information about mass times and details of mass in other languages, see www.parrocchia-bibione.org.
Summer chapels:
- Bibione Pineda, Sant’Antonio (13 Via Baseleghe)
Weekdays: no mass
Saturdays: 7.00 pm
Sundays: 8.00 am and 10.30 am
- Lido del Sole, San Pietro (Via Vivaldi)
Sundays and public holidays: 10.30 am
- Lido dei Pini, Regina della Pace (Via Lira)
Weekdays: no mass
Saturdays: 7.00 pm
Sundays: 9.00 am
- Bibione, “Santo Stefano” (Via delle Colonie)
Mass will be held in other languages until September.
Mass from September onward
No mass will take place in the summer chapels (Lido del Sole, Bibione Pineda and Lido dei Pini).
In the parish church:
Weekdays: 8.00 am (until September) and 6.00 pm
Saturdays: 6.00 pm
Sundays: 9.00 am, 11.00 am and 6.00 pm (until September)
Details
This interesting museum is located in the Belfiore area, a hamlet of the Municipality of Pramaggiore. It is housed near Villa Dalla Pasqua, one of the most ancient buildings, with the special shape of a defensive-style closed courtyard.
Inside the museum is a grinding room, work tools and various objects used for a range of activities. It reconstructs the economic and agricultural history of the local area.




Details